We have over 100 reviews, but because of space limitations we include just the most recent ones here.  The total collection of our reviews are printed and can be found at the cottage.

Chris H, January 2019

Located in the hills between Salt Pond and Lameshur Bay these cottages are ideal for rest and relaxation. When we got there the sun was going down and Russ met us at the top of the driveway with a flashlight. He helped us unpack and proceeded to give us the full tour of the facility making us feel comfortable from the moment we arrived. The cottage had everything we could want and more. The kitchen was fully equipped including all the pans and utensils that we could want. Russ even pointed out the baking pans in case we wanted to make a cake while we were there although that was not on our agenda The walls of the cottage are lined with great books and classic DVD's and CD's. Every room had a ceiling fan that, along with the great breezes provided more than enough cooling power throughout our 11 night stay. The beds and furniture were extremely comfortable. A selection of beach chairs was provided along with beach towels and cooler and beach bag making it so easy for us to pack for our trip. Although mosquito nets were offered we did not even feel the need to apply bug spray during our entire stay. The peace and tranquility of this place cannot be exaggerated. Sitting on a hill surrounded by beautiful flowering bushes there is little traffic yet it is located between some of the best snorkeling beaches on the island. At night the deck provides for some remarkable star gazing. We can't wait to go back.

Scott B, Dec 2018

We came in June, and stayed in the small cottage, so this time we brought another couple and stayed at the main house. The experience was just as wonderful as the first time! everything you would ever need was provided here, and our friends now understand why we keep coming back several times a year. The serenity of being up on the hillside with the constant tropical breeze allows you to relax and leave it all behind.

Snorkeling was great at salt pond... a lot of turtles and rays, and even an eagle ray hanging out there. We spent most of our time there, or at Lameshur beach, both of which are just minutes away. Also did Rams Head trail which is one of the best hikes on St John and is just a 1/4 mile from your front door.

We dream of owning a simple beach cabin like this some day, but until we are in a position to escape NE Ohio permanently, we will just enjoy staying here!

Nicole S., New Jersey, Nov 2018

We stayed in the Main House from 11/5/18 - 11/15/18 and cannot wait to go back. The house was very clean and the perfect size for our family of 4. We didn't need to bring much with us since the house is fully stocked with towels, beach towels and bed linens. The owners have many books and DVD's available for down time. They also have beach toys and coolers that we used daily.

Most days we hiked and went to the beach and most nights kicked back and enjoyed the hot tub while watched the stars. From the house you can do a few hikes including Rams Head which I highly recommend. The views are amazing.

Honestly, we were a little hesitant to visit so soon after the storms but are so glad that we did. St. John is beautiful. We fell in love with the Island 15 years ago and hope to visit again very soon.

As for the owners Liz and Russ were very accommodating. They answered the many questions that I had and even helped us modify our stay when we had an overnight delay. We honestly could not have asked for a better experience.

Howard L., June 2018

The title says it all. This is a lovely cottage on the quiet side of the island. We were here for work, but I would happily return for a vacation stay.

Tara S., April 2018

First, I am reluctant to write this review for selfish reasons... we want to keep this cottage our little secret!!! If you are an outdoorsy, unfussy vacationer, this is the place for you!!! The cottage had everything we wanted and more. The access to the bay was terrific for us! We also thoroughly enjoyed the seclusion. It was so quiet and peaceful, I remember what "nature" sounds like again. If you are an outdoor adventurer, then this truly is paradise. :-D We cannot wait to come back again and again.

Sue B., March 2018

We stayed here for 5 days and had a lovely time. Liz was a great host and we loved the cabin. There were 4 of us and we all slept comfortably! It is a small but lovely cabin on a quiet area of the island. It will take about 30 mins to drive to Cruz Bay, so keep that in mind, but I found the peace and solitude of the area worth the drive. The cabin has everything you need and I loved hanging out on the porch at night. We really enjoyed our stay and really recommend it!

Michele S. June, 2017

The cottage is on the quiet side of the island which is why we chose this place. Coral Bay is close by and has a good selection of restaurants and grocery shopping. Salt Pond Bay, which has pretty good snorkeling and an excellent hiking trail, is within walking distance if you're not bringing a lot stuff with you. The cottage itself was clean and comfortable for our needs, including my tween son.  We cooked in a lot and had all the utensils, pots, etc. needed to make meals. There is an impressive collection of books to read from fiction selections to helpful info books about the island. Liz is an excellent communicator and always answered any of my questions within an hour. I really appreciated her flexibility and concern in making sure we were comfortable.

Mike P, May 2017

What a wonderful place. The place is better than I thought. Everything is well stocked and views are great. We be back next year


Chris C, April 2017

Lameshur Cottage is exactly what we expected. It's located on the quieter side of the island. The property shows all the time and love Liz and Russ put into the place. The openness of the main house was refreshing and my husband and I felt connected even when in different rooms. The open shower was our favorite. Loved that it felt like showering outdoors, but inside. Liz is fantastic about communications during the booking, before you arrive, and during your stay. Please make sure to print the directions Liz will send you before you go to the island. I'm so use to doing everything on my phone, and ended up not having service but on a couple places on the island. So, I rang Liz after we picked up our rental jeep, and she was very helpful giving us directions. She even sent a follow up text asking if we made it. The cottage was super clean. When we arrived and walked in the door, it smelled like freshly laundered linens and island breeze. We spent every day exploring the island and going to as many bays as we could, so coming home to the cottage and relaxing on the deck or in the hot tub was such a lovely way to end the day. The cottage is stocked with a great variety of books and music. You can't help but relax and enjoy while staying at Lameshur Cottages...just bring plenty of bug spray with you...that's also part of island life... :) Thanks Liz!

Tom W,  March 2017

Spent a wonderful week at Lameshur Cottage. Cottage was perfect for our group of 4. We started each day with coffee on the screened in deck and ended the days in the hot tub with lots of sand, water, and fun in between. Nice accommodations with ceiling fans making sleeping very comfortable at night while providing a good breeze throughout the day. Kitchen had everything we needed. Truly paradise with the accommodations, setting, privacy, and scenery! Host Liz and Russ were fantastic. They are very knowledgeable of the island, very friendly, and were very helpful throughout the week. This was our 4th trip to St. John and 1st stay in Coral Bay. When we make a 5th trip we will be booking Lameshur Cottage!

Jack L, February 2017

We loved Lameshur Cottage and it was just as described and worked perfect for our needs. The feeling is very "island style" with simple furnishings but very tastefully decorated and super comfortable. It has everything you need for a self-sufficient vacation. We cooked breakfast in, picnic for the beach, and out to dinner each night! Liz and Russ are both very friendly, helpful and available but not intrusive in the least. If you are into a laid back, very remote destination in a beautiful setting with drop dead gorgeous beaches and snorkeling minutes away then this place is absolutely wonderful. If you are looking for "glitz and glamour" or a "party atmosphere", go elsewhere! Peace and tranquility rule in Coral Bay! We look forward to another visit soon.